Sign in to follow this  
hightower

Put down that cell phone pal

So many of you are probably wondering what the hell I'm talking about after reading the title. Well, before you leave PLEASE read the thread at least, and post your thoughts if you want.

Yesterday, Wednesday December 16th 2009 a Senior at Morgan County Highschool was killed in a car accident. I didn't know the guy too well but I can tell you he was a good guy and fun to hang out with. I don't go to Morgan County Highschool but found out through a friend about his death. The cause of his death was texting while driving. You heard right. A normal highschool kid, a Senior about to go to college and live his life further died tragically due to texting.

You know how your parents say "don't text while you drive! It's dangerous!" and you give them that bullsh*t response "right mom, I won't!"? Yeah, well I've been doing the same thing for almost 2 years now. I've texted while I drive DESPITE the warnings. I've had no close calls but the death of this friend brought me back to reality in a heartbeat. IT CAN HAPPEN TO YOU!!!

And worst of all, I picked up a new phone the other day with a touchscreen I'm not yet used to and earlier yesterday before I heard of my friend's death I was fumbling with my touchscreen, driving with my wrists. SERIOUSLY?!?!?! I feel lucky as sh*t it wasn't me and all of you who can drive should as well.

So I want to encourage you guys to join with me in texting as little as possible if not AT ALL while driving. I would hate to see or hear of one of you guys getting hurt or passing away due to a stupid text message. Drop the phone for a few minutes or at least make a call to your friend rather than texting, it'll keep your eyes on the road.

Please post your thoughts if you feel like it.

I aviod texting, and don't even have it on my plan. I won't use it, and I'm not very good at it (it takes me a couple of minutes just to type a name in an address book)

Too comics to live by