Sign in to follow this  
rootuser

Odd thing happening with KJW m700

Hi all,

I am new to the KJW m700 and Tanaka style guns as a whole, but I am not new to Airsoft, AEGs or Gas powered guns like paintball or airsoft pistols etc so that's why I am a bit perplexed here.

First off I just built myself an HPA set-up. I have a 3000 PSI HPA tank (800 PSI output), a Palmers Stabilizer, Rap4 Coldshot (instead of HPA when desired), quick disconnects etc. I tapped a normal KJW short mag for testing.

The gun itself has a full length 6.03 Barrel, Firefly bucking, KA Barrel Nut, KA Bolt Spring, G&G stiker. The GG test mag has the King Arms plunger set.

When I use the GG magazine and I shoot .20s I chrono at 400 FPS pretty consistently. +/- 5 FPS.

When I chrono with the same GG magazine with .40s I get 460 FPS...........?????????????? huh?????? A bit less consistent (its +/- 10 FPS).

When I chrono with .43, I get around the same 460 FPS I get with the .40s.........

I have checked this on multiple chronos and checked the weight of the BBs. This IS happening. Can anyone tell me why??????????

What does 460 FPS with .40s = with .20s? I really don't want to injure some one because im shooting too hot and don't even know it.

Also, do the stock mags have any way to turn up or down FPS? I haven't messed with that yet, but im concerned if I can't get this stock magazine to lower it's FPS I'm going to run in to other problem eventually.

Also, seeing what I've done with this gun so far, can any suggest any hop-up parts that would help?

Thank you much for helping out a newbie to this type of weapon.

Edited by rootuser

Heavier BBs cause the gasses to have more time to expand behind them. Never heard of the effect being this pronounced though.