Sign in to follow this  
ihelfric

Starting M4 - G&P Magpul PTS MOE M4 Carbine AEG ?

I am brand new to airsoft as a hobby but used to milsim as, well, milsim training for tactical purposes. Never actually had to buy my own gear before and I'm new to the brands.

What is the public consensus on G&P's Magul M4 AEG ($350)? I want something that will last a while while retaining that upgradeability factor and so far that bad-boy looks good.

Thoughts?

I am brand new to airsoft as a hobby but used to milsim as, well, milsim training for tactical purposes. Never actually had to buy my own gear before and I'm new to the brands.

What is the public consensus on G&P's Magul M4 AEG ($350)? I want something that will last a while while retaining that upgradeability factor and so far that bad-boy looks good.

Thoughts?

Well here's the thing.

EVERY AEG out there need some sort of tune-up or small upgrades for durability.

For G&P, new piston and gears are recommended. Stock parts will last but those are recommended.

Adding a MOSFET is also a good idea if you plan to run on lipo batteries.

G&P has nice externals so no need to worry about the externals.

However if you plan to throw on a suppressor or whatnot, the barrel has clock-wise threading so you may or may not need an adapter.

Well here's the thing.

EVERY AEG out there need some sort of tune-up or small upgrades for durability.

For G&P, new piston and gears are recommended. Stock parts will last but those are recommended.

Adding a MOSFET is also a good idea if you plan to run on lipo batteries.

G&P has nice externals so no need to worry about the externals.

However if you plan to throw on a suppressor or whatnot, the barrel has clock-wise threading so you may or may not need an adapter.

Thanks, I really appreciate it.

Do you know anything about this gun's performance in general?

From my personal experiences, all of the G&Ps that I've owned/worked on shoot from 390~410fps.