Sign in to follow this  
Gribs

Good AK47/74?

Hey guys. First post. I'm new to the sport. Only had a handful of games under my belt. So far I've played indoors, but I'm taking a real liking to the outdoor fields now. I've got a CA G36C that's a sweet little weapon close quarters, but out in the open I find myself trying to lob rounds at guys who can take me out with ease. I tried renting an M4 from the field, but of course their guns weren't any better.

I'm really enjoying the game, but I'd like it if I didn't have to charge wildly at everyone or flank and sneak for every "kill".

I'm a big fan of classic blonde AKs, and I was wondering if you all could give me a hand. Aesthetics are very important to me. I need steel and I need wood, or convincing imitation wood. Blonde foregrip and stock is a necessity.

I was looking at the VFC AK74. It's absolutely beautiful, and I've read good things. $430 is a bit pricey, though. If I don't need to upgrade the internals heavily that price actually wouldn't hurt, but I'm worried that I'd need to put another couple hundred into the gun in order to get something with the reach and accuracy I'm looking for.

Is the VFC a worthwhile buy? What sort of upgrades would I need? I'm looking to go all the way and get a solid weapon. Hoping to enjoy some weekend games over the summer and I need something that is actually going to hit what I point at.

Is there another brand you'd recommend for less that I could upgrade into something more my style?

I'm hoping to ultimately squeeze 400fps out of whatever I end up getting.

Really appreciate any help you can provide. Thanks!

Edited by Gribs

My recommendation is a Real Sword Type 56.