Sign in to follow this  
leavesea

I'm new to airsoft, and would like to have a sniper role.

I'm a newbie to asf, and was recommended to this site for extra help from experienced airsoft players. I was wondering if you guys could suggest some good sniper rifles for a beginning marksmen. My budget is nothing over 300, because it's going to be my first sniper rifle, I live in canada, and would be playing in the field only. I'd really like to get into airsoft as a hobby, not just the occasional skirmish. I probably wont upgrade the gun until I know more about airsoft.

any recommendations would be awesome :a-grin:

First off is this your first gun? If it is I would recommend getting an AEG instead, there are a lot more parts and options for an AEG, and if you do it right you can get good range. There are 2 paths you can take for sniper rifles: ether get a medium priced rifle, like a JG bar 10, or start off with an expensive gun, like a tanaka m700. They will both need upgrades thought, so if you are not really into upgrading then a sniper rifle may not be the best choice. Also you never stated weather you wanted spring powered or gas.

You're aren't the first newbie to come here and wanted to be a sniper.

Imho, No... Until you know more about Airsoft, stay away from the sniper role.

Yeah, it's cool. Maybe you play a lot of video games where "sniping" is like the bomb. Cod, fps games, etc... But this is airsoft where Sniping isn't the "bomb". Since this isn't RS(real steel), a sniper cannot outrange an AEG until you upgrade like crazy.

A well built sniper will cost at least a good $700-800. Some that goes to the extreme will go over $1,000.

Why?

Here's why.

Aeg can outrange snipers anyday. With the new technology, it is easy to make an AEG reach 200 to 250+ feet. A normal stock sniper can hit 100-150 feet. MAYBE 200 feet if you're lucky.

Now let's look at it.

AEG vs Sniper.