Sign in to follow this  
Plasmio

What can I do?

I've got a Dboys SCAR-L. It's stock internals give it a pretty slow rate of fire. I'm new to upgrading my guns, so I need some help. What can I do to give it a higher rate of fire? I believe it's a version 2 gearbox.

I almost forgot to mention that the stock only fits an 8.4, 9.6 won't fit.

Edited by Plasmio

I've got a Dboys SCAR-L. It's stock internals give it a pretty slow rate of fire. I'm new to upgrading my guns, so I need some help. What can I do to give it a higher rate of fire? I believe it's a version 2 gearbox.

Add a high speed gear set and shim it very well, add deans, a matrix turbo 3000 motor and a m90 or m100 madbull spring. Maybe try to short stroke as well.

Short stroking doesn't increase rate of fire by a noticeable amount, it does decrease your power by a measurable amount though.

Battery to get:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/_..._Lipo_Pack.html

A good shim job alone can give you a considerable ROF boost.

I'd suggest getting a Lonex A1 or A2 motor, replacing your bushings if they are plastic, correcting AOE, and shimming and you should have around 20 rps. Its hard to say what to do if you don't set any budget or performance parameters, I'd suggest doing so.

Short stroking doesn't increase rate of fire by a noticeable amount, it does decrease your power by a measurable amount though.

Battery to get:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/_..._Lipo_Pack.html

A good shim job alone can give you a considerable ROF boost.

I'd suggest getting a Lonex A1 or A2 motor, replacing your bushings if they are plastic, correcting AOE, and shimming and you should have around 20 rps. Its hard to say what to do if you don't set any budget or performance parameters, I'd suggest doing so.