BCap

Newbie Here - Good Starter Gun?

I'm just getting started with airsoft, and before I purchase my first rifle, I'd like to get some input as to what brand I should get. I'd like to get something based on either the M4/M4A1 carbine, M16A2/A3/A4 assault rifle, or HK 416 assault rifle. Of course, it shouldn't be too expensive, and it should be something decent (I.e. not a piece of crap). Any suggestions? I'm also considering a sidearm - either an M1911, an M9, or a Jericho (mostly because Spike is a badass/good ergonomics). Any suggestions there?

Also also, what gear should I get when first starting out (goggles, etc.)? Can y'all recommend any good stuff that won't break the bank and will last a while?

JG M4/M16 is a good starter gun, but shoot too hot for CQB if that's what you plan on playing.

My personal recommendation is the G&G Combat Machines, of which there are many styles to pick from, and have a nicer plastic body than the JG. Also come in tan if you prefer. The blowback ones have no real advantage however.

I don't know you budget or how you define cheap, but if you afford a G&P, go for it.

You won't find a 416 short of the VFC, if you'd like to shell out that much money.

The only replica 941 pistol is a KWC CO2 one, which is not recommended at all. No parts available should you break it, and magazines will end up costing you more than the gun.

Again, this is based on your budget, but KJW 1911s are a good start (the KP07 is the single stack), I don't remember if they make an M9, since I don't like them, with their trigger spring issues.

I know someone will call me out for this, but the WE 1911 and M9 aren't horrible, and for the most part can take aftermarket parts. They also have more styles available to choose from.

I know someone will call me out for this, but the WE 1911 and M9 aren't horrible

You rang? I think you are the only person to ever have good experience with multiple WE guns. Are you working for them or something? :a-laugh: