Sign in to follow this  
ryanassis

Help Im a massive Newbie. just broke my gun

Right so about a week ago I installed a new SHS high torque motor and an M120 spring into my G&G CM16 (Non BB)

all was working well however the shimming was a bit off and it squeaked a bit so I decided to reshim....

I spent a good 2 hours sorting it out and making sure it wasn't too tight (Screwed the gearbox shut every time to check)

I go to put the motor back in and shoot it.... works fine for a bit.... stops working, Now me being a huge moron I decide to keep pulling the

trigger and still nothing

So I remove the motor from the gun and leave it for like 20 minutes. I then go back and just plug the motor in (not inside the gearbox) and instantly

the motor spins up without my pulling the trigger. And ive just blown my mosfet... great

I then spend the next few hours creating a new wiring harness without a mosfet and just doing it the good ol' way. and yet again I put it back together

pull the trigger once and BAM my entire wiring harness has just melted completely. What the actual F***

Now I don't see how it could be the shimming as it is not tight at all! I get around 2 spins when doing it by hand and there is even some slight side to side movement in the gears (not visible but I can tap the gears and they move)

What do I do now? Im not sure I want to buy another mosfet as ill just blow it again. what should I check first?

BTW im using a 7.4 Turnigy nanotech 2200mah 35-70C LIPO

Guest alberty

Just to check, did you start shimming your gears in relation of the bevel gear and the pinion gear? If not, that's an important thing to consider.

Do you have another battery to try? I notice that your lipo that you listed has a pretty high C number, stepping down would be something to try out to see if that works safely.

I was using ASG Ultimate Silver Plated wire...

I adjusted the motor hight when shimming the bevel so it shouldn't have had to change once put together.