Sign in to follow this  
DrKatz

Dan Wesson 715 Airsoft Revolver (Full Power Version) Modification Help!

Hello all,

I recently purchased the Dan Wesson 715 (Full Power Version), but I want to lower the FPS to make it skirmishable. Here's a link to the ASG I bought: http://www.evike.com/products/58532/

Honestly, I could have bought the low power version (280-330 FPS), but I wanted something a little stronger for the fields. I'm hoping to lower the FPS on this full power version down to around 350-400 FPS. That way, I get the best of both worlds. Silver finish is nicer on this version too.

I am extremely new to airsoft, so if it involves replacing the spring, you'll have to give me directions like I'm a 5-year old. Any help is appreciated, I've heard you can use low power shells, but I fear that would lower the FPS to around 200-250, and the field I'm planning to go to has a max of 400, so I want to be as close to the max without going over.

Thanks all!

I was afraid this might be the case. Should I have purchased the low power version instead for a skirmishable ASG?

Given my situation, what would you suggest I do to make the gun skirmishable? (Ex: Low power shells, clip spring, double action (heard extended use in DA lowers FPS, etc)

Power down shells simply have an insert at the back of the shells to throttle air flow. Punch out to make full power, or drill to larger size for something in between (tunable).

Edit:

Shooting in DA has a lower fps because the hammer is physically brought back at a shorter distance which decreases how much it opens the valve. But guns are usually chronoed at their highest energy potential for safety reasons.

Edited by renegadecow

Thank you Renegadecow for the informative feedback. It seems the best option would be to buy the low power shells and tune the FPS to my liking.