LightHeaded

Total Newbie Question

Hi all,

I'm a total FNG at these airsoft guns and I have been searching for the info I'm looking for and have not been able to find it yet. Everytime I see anything about the guns mentioned, it is normally in regards to velocity. With velocity factored in, what I the approximate effective range of these guns, and what type of precision are they capable of? For instance, are they able to hold a 4" groups at 25 yards? More, less?

I have a solid understanding of ballistics, and realize that these small super low mass BB's probably don't cary much energy downrange, but do they behave more like a golfball in flight than a bullet?

Thanks.

So is that meaning that hitting a 10x15" man sized target at 50 yards is going to be 100% accurate?

Say best case scenario in respect to BB's and guns, what is the maximum range airsoft guns are effective to? Is the flight time of the projectile very long out to these ranges?

The main reason I ask is that I played some paintball with a few buddies maybe five or ten years back. I thought the range was decent, but found the lack of precise flight of the balls to be very annoying. So someone that I would have had easy with miles geat I would have to fire a bunch of balls at to hit.

I really like the idea of airsoft and am hoping the guns are better ballistically than paintball. Both are much cheaper and appear to hurt MUCH less than simunitions (which I swear I will never play again, unless asked to....), so I guess I'll have to make a compromise somewhere. Just trying to collect info as to where.

Thanks

So is that meaning that hitting a 10x15" man sized target at 50 yards is going to be 100% accurate?

Say best case scenario in respect to BB's and guns, what is the maximum range airsoft guns are effective to? Is the flight time of the projectile very long out to these ranges?